“I don’t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody.”

tumblr_n2ioyz0KnC1snexhzo1_1280

I think it’s true in both the spaces of college and marketing/pr that saying yes too freely can be more hurtful than helpful. In saying you can’t or that you don’t know, you establish some limitations and boundaries, and it can show that you’re a real person. I’ve experienced this recently in interviews and networking- if someone asks me about a fashion blog I’ve never heard of I’m tempted to say yes for fear of looking like I don’t know. But I’m learning that in saying “No, I haven’t heard of that but I’ll check it out! Have you heard of (insert blog I read)?”, I take their suggestion while offering some new info and insight!

Leave a Reply

