FAB OR FAIL: TURTLENECKS

Turtlenecks

Hey guys! A lot of my posts recently have been inspired by the freezing weather here in Michigan and this one is no different, because today it was 35 degrees here. Like really? It’s literally freezing. Anyway, I thought about this the other day when I was taking out the final group of my winter clothes and putting away my summer clothes. You know how you put away a bunch of clothes for the season and kinda forget all the cool things you have? That was me! And the first thing I was drawn to was my trusty ribbed black turtleneck that I bought it from Macy’s last winter. It was an impulse buy, but such a great decision.

Fun fact about me- I went to Catholic school for 8 years before high school. The kind where we had to wear the plaid skirt uniform, white button up, and knee highs every single day. In the winter, my mom would try to make me wear a turtleneck and I thought it was literally the lamest piece of clothing ever. Looking back I have no idea why, maybe it was the neck, or maybe because it had no detail (my accessorizing game wasn’t exactly up to par yet), or maybe I thought the turtleneck paired with the skirt was too frumpy. I don’t know. But I’m in love with them now, so much so that I may or may not have five of them, and they are definitely a FAB for me!

They are so great for achieving a monochomatic look like the one in the feature photo, great under blazers and jackets, and for me an easy pick for me in the morning when I’m getting ready for work. In terms of pairings, I’ve been seeing other bloggers pairing them with flared skirts and leather pencil skirts which are both chic options. Sidenote- this leather pencil skirt from Zara is amazing. I also love it under a jean jacket or vest with great skinny jean . Some of the more over-sized chunky ones are so cozy you don’t even need anything else on top! Do you guys think turtlenecks are fab too? Or do you still see them as a fail? (No hard feelings ha!) Let me know in the comments down below!

On another note guys, I’m hosting #shoechat on Twitter with Unlimited Soles this Thursday 3-4pm! I’d love for you to join me for a great convo on the latest shoe trends! Follow me there at @ChicandDefined!

Kc

Image via here

12 thoughts on “FAB OR FAIL: TURTLENECKS

  1. Pingback: MONDAY FINSPO | CHIC & DEFINED

  2. I’m a former Catholic school girl too! But instead of hating turtle necks, I hated Peter Pan collars… which is dumb because I love them now. I’m really digging mock turtlenecks. Audrey Hepburn just made them look so classic.

    Rebecca
    fearinwonderland.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: IFB: LINKS A LA MODE XII | Les Assorties

  4. Pingback: Links à la Mode: The #heartifb Weekly Roundup | Nov 20th | KP FUSION

  5. Pingback: Links à la Mode 54: Fix the Internet

Leave a comment